My Time at University and Graduating

Two days ago, I handed in my last ever assignments at university.

I probably won’t be able to process this for at least two months. I mean, how could three years have gone by so quickly? But in reality, those three years are an accumulation of everything I’ve achieved. That equates to:

  • 46 Assignments (roughly)
  • 1 Exam*
  • 1 12,000 word Dissertation
  • Countless nights out
  • 1 Student who isn’t ready to leave yet

*Creative Writing doesn’t do exams, this was from my joint honours in first year!

After all that and the mountains of emotion that comes with university, I can proudly say I’ve finished. I will be graduating 21st October 2017, and I have no idea where I’ll be then. But wherever I am, I know I wouldn’t be there without this experience.

University isn’t for everyone, that’s a well known fact. Some people are naturally independent and charismatic, able to climb the career ladder without the help of education. But for me and many others like me, I was nowhere near ready for the world when I left sixth form. I had no life experience, no independence, and more importantly no confidence. Uni isn’t just a place to go and get pissed regularly with your friends. I mean, it can be, but it teaches you so much about yourself and what you can achieve. I know this is silly, but I went for an eye test on my own for the first time on Monday, and that was a personal success! I don’t think I could have done that if I hadn’t continued education to be honest. I mean, who knows where I would be if I hadn’t?

I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life before university. Now I do.
I didn’t know how to completely be myself and not care about others before university. Now I do.
Even silly things, like I didn’t really care much about make up before uni, but now I do because I found a love and passion for it.

What did university do for you? And if you didn’t go, what was the best part about not going? (Aside from the debt, lol)

Leave a Reply

